Site Mast
Useful Information

ILCA Class Rules
2020 Worlds Qualification Rules
2020 Grand Prix Rules
2019 Grand Prix Standings
ILCA-NA Major Event Schedule
ILCA-NA District Championships
ILCA-NA Masters Event Schedule
Map of Event Locations
All Events

Upcoming Events
2012 District 13 Championship PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 25 January 2013 00:16

Sixty-eight Lasers invaded DIYC for the all-Florida District Championships.  The full Standard rig was used by 25, while 35 entered the Radial division, and 8 sailed the 4.7 rig.  While the age range was 14 to 71, 48 were teenagers and all the rest were “Masters”, age 40+.

Principal Race Officer Judy Hanlon and her team kept the races going in the moderate conditions all weekend, with 7 races completed in each class.

Both the Standard and Radial classes came down to a tiebreaker.  Former Laser World Champion (1980) Ed Baird, representing St. Petersburg YC, won the opening contest, and never finished worse than 5th, but had to fend off a strong charge on Sunday from Brendan Shanahan, also from SPYC, to squeeze out the title, and the 20 Laser North American Grand Prix points that go with it.  Third was earned by the only Junior (16-) in the Standard class, Luke Muller from Lauderdale YC, ahead of Kyle Brego from St. Thomas YC (USVI) and James Liebl.  Top DIYC sailor (and first Grandmaster) was Buzzy Heausler in 6th, with Eric Robbins placing 12th.

Greiner Hobbs of DIYC jumped out to an early lead with a 1-3 in the Radial class, but fell back as Liam McCarthy of SPYC and Ravi Parent from Sarasota battled to the front.  McCarthy’s victory in race 6 was the difference at the end to edge Parent for the District title.  Lauderdale YC’s Erik Weis was the only sailor to win two races in either of the larger classes, but settled for third, ahead of Colin Brego (St. Thomas YC) and Patrick Shanahan (SPYC).  Hobbs took 7th to top the DIYC entries.

Andy Burns from the host club dominated the smallest rig, the 4.7 class, with three bullets for a nine-point margin over Courtney Purcell from ESC and Sylvia Hopkins of SPYC, who closed with a 2-1-1 score on Sunday.

The competitors and race committee were treated to full hot breakfast buffets both days, a fabulous regatta dinner by Chef Derek, and a Sunday cookout hosted by Pat Crump and his team.  Everybody wants to return to DIYC, especially our three new friends from Mexico who were the life of the party!

Submitted by Eric Robbins

Davis Island Yacht Club  -  December 1-2, 2013
Trophies awarded:

Standard Class        First, First Master        Ed Baird
Second                Brendan Shanahan
Third                Luke Muller
Fourth                Kyle Brego
Fifth, First Apprentice Master    James Liebl
First Grandmaster        Buzzy Heausler
First Great Grandmaster    David Hartman

Radial Class        First                Liam McCarthy
Second                Ravi Parent
Third                Erik Weis
Fourth                Colin Brego
Fifth                Patrick Shanahan
First Woman            Dana Rohde

4.7 Class        First                Andy Burns
Second                Courtney Purcell
Third                Sylvia Hopkins


Last Updated on Friday, 25 January 2013 22:56
Administrator Login