Site Mast
Useful Information

ILCA Class Rules
2020 Worlds Qualification Rules
2020 Grand Prix Rules
2019 Grand Prix Standings
ILCA-NA Major Event Schedule
ILCA-NA District Championships
ILCA-NA Masters Event Schedule
Map of Event Locations
All Events

Upcoming Events
2011 District 25 Championship PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 14 September 2011 20:20

Christine Neville and Oliver Toole take the honors

The 2011 Laser Class District 25 (Southern California) Championship Regatta was held in conjunction with the Alamitos Bay Yacht Club (ABYC), Long Beach CA Labor Day Holiday Regatta which was also chosen as the first of four events for the Southern California Youth Yacht Racing Association 2011-2012 Ullman/Frost Series for juniors raced in Laser Radials.

This combination of events resulted in a nice turnout of 53 Laser Radials and 24 Lasers.  The regatta drew racers from the San Francisco Bay Area, Morro Bay, Santa Barbara, Los Angeles area, and San Diego.  The Radial fleet was dominated by junior racers, while the Laser fleet had a mix of junior, adult and Masters.

The bright morning sunshine presaged fresh breeze for Saturday and we weren’t disappointed as Force Four to Five winds were blowing by the time the Race Committee (RC) set the race course inside the Long Beach Harbor breakwater.  In the Radial fleet, we had to cool our heels as nine separate classes started before we got our chance.  Thank goodness we had no General Recalls all day.  Due to the wind velocity and petite stature of some of the competitors, the Radial fleet spread out widely over the race course, especially in race one when we were sent twice around a long windward-leeward track.  You have to give the youngsters their due, however, as there were no DNF’s and only a smattering of DNC’s over six demanding races Saturday and Sunday.

Showing mastery of the conditions, Christine Neville from the San Francisco Bay Area –heck, those winds made her feel right at home- won all three Radial races Saturday followed by; Matt Long from the Santa Barbara YC (SBYC), Keenan Chung from Newport Harbor YC (NHYC), ABYC’s Jack Jorgensen, Chris Vilicich from Cabrillo Beach YC and James Trotter from San Diego YC.

In the Laser fleet ABYC’s Vann Wilson was tied on points for first place with Oliver Toole from SBYC followed by; Kieran Chung from NHYC, Michael Bradley from Long Beach YC and Stephen Long from Santa Barbara SC rounding out the top five on Saturday.

Following racing Saturday, all sailors and guests could partake of the food and drinks on the ABYC patio accompanied by great music from the band and lots of fun and games well into the evening.

Sunday brought the same if not a bit more breeze than Saturday and as we waited for our first start the F18 multihulls, that started earlier, screamed through the start-finish area on three sail reaches, crews shouting out cautions to clear the way…pretty wild.  I guess anticipating anxious Laser and Radial racers, the RC hoisted the “I” flag enforcing the “round the ends rule” but amazingly, only one racer in one race failed to restart correctly all day.  Radials did have one General Recall in the penultimate race as the wind had moderated making everyone a bit more aggressive while the last race of the day looked to be a real drifter as a high overcast rolled in blocking the breeze from earlier in the day.

With the strong winds Saturday and early Sunday and with moderate to light winds for the last races, there was a condition for everyone; however, Christine Neville continued to dominate with a second in race five and seventh in the final light air affair…impressive.  For her efforts, Christine is our 2011 Laser Radial District 25 Champion, Labor Day Regatta winner and she’ll have her name on the ABYC Art Hall Fiesta de la Playa Perpetual trophy as winner of the Labor Day Regatta’s largest fleet.  Following Christine in the final results were; Matt Long, Alan Rochard from Austin YC, James Trotter, Keenan Chung and Jack Jorgensen.

The Labor Day & Laser District 25 Champion was Oliver Toole who posted three second place finishes Sunday winning by two points over Kieran Chung.  Vann Wilson placed third, followed by Oliver’s father, Pat Toole from SBYC and Michael Bradley.

For complete results, go to:

The ABYC Laser Fleet is grateful to the ABYC Lido 14 Fleet volunteers and friends for putting on a great show, especially all the help at the launch ramp and on the water!  We are also thankful for the hard working staff of ABYC.  We know it has been a busy season and it is not over yet.

Submitted by:
Steven Smith
ABYC Laser Fleet Co-Captain

Administrator Login